Franchising Consultative Committee

The Franchising Consultative Committee (FCC), previously known as the Franchising Consultative Panel, was established to provide a forum through which competition and consumer concerns relating to the franchising sector and other franchising issues, could be considered and addressed collaboratively.

How the committee works

Committee meetings are held twice a year, and are chaired by our Deputy Chair Dr Michael Schaper.

Members are drawn from a range of sectors, including franchisees, franchisors, business advisors, government agencies, franchising researchers, and educators. Appointment to the committee is at our discretion, and members typically hold office for a period of two years.

We do not pay sitting fees or reimburse travel costs for participation, members must meet their own expenses.

Current membership

  • Derek Sutherland – HWL Ebsworth Lawyers
  • Nigel Smith – Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries
  • Jason Gehrke – Franchise Advisory Centre
  • Tim Hantke – Franchising Solutions
  • Michael Marinos – Billy Baxter’s franchisor
  • Jenelle Fountain – Tatts Lotteries franchisor
  • Gary Hu – Michel’s Patisserie franchisee
  • Professor Lorelle Frazer – Griffith University
  • Dr Jenny Buchan – University of New South Wales
  • Professor Andrew Terry – University of Sydney
  • Kym De Britt – Franchise Council of Australia
  • The Hon. David Beddall – Franchisee Association of Australia
  • Richard Dudley – Australia Motor Industry Federation

Also participating in meetings of the committee are observers from various government agencies and departments.

More information

Contact the ACCC